At the Edge of Mind

AoM Journaling Challenge Day 8: Career plans

with one comment

I’m really tired, certainly not fit for this challenge:

Take some time today to reflect on your career. Jot down a timeline of it, including all the ups and downs. What was your best experience? And the worst? What would you like your future to look like, in terms of your career? If you’re a young man and haven’t started in yet, focus on that future part. What do you want your work to look like?

I don’t have a career yet. I’m still a student. I will shortly provide an overview of my academic life this far:

  • 2009: I got into med school, following my family’s wishes. My real passion was mathematics and physics.
  • 2009-2010: Med school’s first year, a lot of interesting things to learn. I start to get accustomed to the “academic way”. I also discover the field of computational neuroscience, a field in which I could still follow my passion for math.
  • 2010-2011: Second year. More interesting courses and staying strong. I get into a research project. After the final exams, I get into a summer school on “hot” medical research.
  • 2011-2012: Third year of med school. The beginning of clinical courses (focused on the students’ interaction with real patients). I meet a mentor, a neuroscientist (with heavy involvement in computational stuff) working for my school. I start helping him with some of his experiments. On real animals (rats).  My decision for a career in biomedical research is final. And medicine becomes totally useless to me. MOOCs start to appear, I join the first of them. I’m very happy for being able to approach specialized knowledge for free.
  • 2012-2013: The fourth year brings me a study partner from med school. We make studying for exams sooo much more fun (and it’s easier too). MOOC frenzy, heavy involvement in research-oriented projects, mainly experiments. I get into a summer school about my dream field, computational neuroscience. I decide that I’d like to combine experimental with theoretical work in neuroscience.
  • 2013-present: Staying strong in the fifth year. One year to go. Full-fledged clinical courses make my days heavy. My interest for academics has plateaued, no involvement in projects. I’m able to follow only a few MOOCs.

I feel bad for myself, as my academic progress has stalled.

I want to be a researcher. I want to know stuff about my brain. Yours too.

Written by Dimokratis Karamanlis

January 12, 2014 at 12:05 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Refusal of the Call. My current state. I’m doubting my self. As you can read in day 8, my academic “progress” has stopped. Deep down, I think whether this is happening […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 458 other followers

